Firearms And Liberty - Shade's Landing Inc. Carry Permit MN

Where Conservatives Gather

Changes in MN Firearms Law and reciprocity – 2015

The legislature this year passed five major pro-gun bills under SF 878. The bill included these provisions (source is The Minnesota Gun Owners Civil Rights Alliance - GOCRA):

  • SF 878 contains the following pro-Second Amendment provisions:
  • Prohibits any government agency from confiscating or regulating the lawful possession, carrying, transfer, transportation and defensive use of firearms or ammunition during a state of emergency, like the actions that occurred in the wake of Hurricane Katrina;
  • Aligns Minnesota with more than 40 other states that have conformed their statutes to federal law so that their residents can purchase rifles and shotguns in non-contiguous states, provided that the purchase or transfer complies with state and federal law;
  • Modifies the Capitol Carry Notification provision (current statute allows permit holders to carry on the capitol complex as long as permit holders “notify the sheriff or the commissioner of public safety, as appropriate.”  This legislation would update and clarify the statute to provide that application for a permit constitutes “notification”);
  • Provides a language change to help resolve carry permit reciprocity issues;
  • Legalizes ownership and possession of firearm sound suppressors (suppressors are legal to own under federal law and in 39 other states).

The implementation schedule for these new laws to go into effect was:

  • July 1st
    • Suppressor ban ends;
    • Capital carry notification standards change;
    • Carry permit recognition standards change;
  • August 1st
    • Emergency powers provision takes effect;
    • Ban on hunting with suppressors ends

As a result to a change in our reciprocity law, the BCA put out a revised list of the out of state permits which MN will recognize as being valid to carry a pistol in public in Minnesota. The list of states we will recognize are:

  • Alaska – Arkansas – Delaware * - Idaho ** - Illinois *
  • Kansas - Kentucky - Louisiana – Michigan
  • Nevada – New Jersey * - New Mexico
  • NORTH DAKOTA ** - Ohio - Oklahoma – Rhode Island *
  • South Carolina* - South Dakota * - Tennessee

(Removed Missouri, Texas, Utah and Wyoming 8/11/2015)
* Added 2015
** Enhanced Permits Only

Current as of 08-11-2015 – Source: MN DPS/BCA

This should improve our ability to carry into new states such as North Dakota, and hopefully others but it will take time for other states that we now recognize to recognize our permits if they will at all. We’ll keep you all updated as this progresses.

Written by Shade

Tuesday 11 August 2015 at 3:29 pm

Comments are not enabled