Utah changed their law a couple of years ago (2009) and now requires that if your state recognizes the Utah permit, then you must first have a valid and current permit from your home state BEFORE Utah will issue a Utah permit to you. This applies to both renewals and new permits.
For example, Minnesota recognizes the Utah permit. Therefore a Minnesota resident is now required to have a permit from his home state for a new or to renew his Utah permit.
UTAH RENEWALS - YOU NEED A HOME STATE PERMIT IF....
You do not need to take a class for a Utah permit renewal. The BCI will mail you a renewal application. All that is required is a new photo, $15, and a copy of your resident state permit if your home state recognizes the Utah permit.
Let's say you have both a Utah and a Minnesota permit. The only class you need for any renewal is for your Minnesota permit. You don't need one for Utah (or Florida for that matter). Our renewal class for your MN permit is only $75 and $67.50 if you use our former student discount code (if you lost it - call us at 952-891-1537 and we'll tell you what it is).
So do NOT sign up for the Multistate course when renewing your Minnesota permit. Only select the Minnesota course.