Add Your Comments to This Page!

Testimonials

Don't take our word for it! Here's what our customers are saying about us...

These are all real, unsolicited comments from our customers!

November 21st, 2017

Gary is a great teacher. Makes the class interactive and fun for all members. Gary is a class act. Hopefully get a time to get some advanced classes from him someday.

Clint from Lonsdale, Minnesota - United States
November 3rd, 2017

Online Course was easy and able to complete on my own time! Tutorials were very easy to follow and the testing was a simple way to get everything completed. Once the online portion was done, the live shooting was a breeze and Gary made it very easy! Thank you for offering this course and I will see you again in 5 years!

Chad from Carver, Minnesota - United States
October 31st, 2017

The on line course was straightforward and easy to complete.
It could not have been much more painless.

John from Papillion, Nebraska - United States
October 15th, 2017

Online renewal was a breeze.
Gary shade was great, again!

Michael from Big lake, Minnesota - United States
October 9th, 2017

The online renewal was terrific! Fantastic and quick communication. The content was great and easy to follow. Great communication setting up the live shooting date and time. Will always recommend Gary!!

See you in 5 years!
Thanks,
Chad

Chad from New Market, Minnesota - United States
October 7th, 2017

Best class Instructor for content, real life learning and gun law application. Whatever you do...don't pull a Garyism

<>

josue from lakeville, Minnesota - United States
September 24th, 2017

I used the on-line course. The course was very informative a great way to get the information. Gary was very responsive with any questions regarding the on-line course or qualification shoot.

Gary was very helpful at the shoot and organized. I was there at 9:15 and on the road after the shoot by 9:45.

Bob

Bob from Plymouth, Minnesota - United States
July 20th, 2017

Took the refresher course on line. Met Gary and the people for shooting qualifications at a gun range. Gary gave pointers on shooting stances where needed along rules of gun safety. He answered question anyone had and asked some questions. Gary is very personable. He takes pride in the classes he teaches. He is a very good instructor. I highly recommend him.

David from Jordan, United States
June 25th, 2017

Second time taking the class with Gary and took the hybrid course. Very much appreciated this option and completed the range portion today, 6/25/17. Thank you Gary.

[Thank you Tim!]

Tim from Eagan, Minnesota - United States
June 18th, 2017

I have taken my permit to carry course 3 times with Gary. Absolute pleasure every single time. The first 2 times were physical classes followed by the shooting qualification, this last time I tried the hybrid online classroom followed by the shooting qualification. I absolutely loved this option as it allowed you to complete it during time that fit your personal schedule. I would most definitely recommend this option to anybody who asked. Gary's shooting qualifications are always very comfortable and explained thoroughly before you take to the line, expectations are explained and reexplained if need be. As long as Gary and Shade's Landing continues to provide the training, I will continue returning for my recertification. Thanks Gary and Co., always a pleasure.

Michael Casello

Michael from Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota - United States
May 22nd, 2017


The first time I took my permit to carry was an 8 hour classroom and then another hour at the range. The guy was not pleasant and didn't really want woman in the class.............definitely NOT Shade's Landing Quality. I was dreading having to do the renewal.............

This was my 5 year renewal of the permit to carry. My GF recommended taking the online course and the shooting part of the testing thru Shade's Landing.
Like others I was a bit skeptical but not anymore!
Although it was an hour away from my house it was well worth the drive.
I highly recommend Gary and his team for not only the permit to carry license but especially for woman. They take the time to answer your questions and make you feel comfortable.
I give this a 5 star rating and will be back!

Wanda from Elk River, Minnesota - United States
April 26th, 2017

This was my first time for taking the class so I was a little skeptical not
knowing what to expect, I was well pleased with Jason he was great to work with. I would highly recommend this class for the woman out there
who want to get their permit to carry. I walked away learning so much Thanks Jason keep up the good work .

[[ Thank you Kristy! It was our pleasure having you and your family in class. ]]

KRISTY from MORA , Minnesota - United States
April 25th, 2017

This is the second time I've taken the Mn carry online class. Love the self paced study. Got to shoot this AM and luckily the rain held off even though Gary assured me I wouldn't melt. I'd recommend this course to anyone who had limited time. Thanks Gary!!

John from Otsego, Minnesota - United States
April 10th, 2017

Just renewed my permit with Jason.....Highly educational class and time well spent.
Just got the DVD set and have watched it a few times.
Thanks Jason

Glenda from McGrath, Minnesota - United States
April 10th, 2017

I would highly recommend Gary's class to anyone looking to get their carry permit. The online course is perfect for people with busy schedule. The qualification was easy and fast. I will be using Gary in 5 years when I have to renew my permit again.

Kyle from Woodbury, Minnesota - United States
January 31st, 2017

my first renewal was 5 year's ago with Gary this was a five star operation
my second renewal was with Jason and again a five star operation
on my upcoming in five years will be shade's landing i recommend this for anyone.

*** Thank you Ron! We look forward to having you back. Stay safe. ***

Ronald from pine, Minnesota - United States
December 30th, 2016

Five years ago I took the carry permit course from Gary in person. I took the online course to renew my permit. This morning I met Gary at the range to qualify. The online course was perfect for me. Honestly Gary is about as nice a person as you will ever meet. And he doesn't mind helping, if you need it.

Doug from Roseville, United States
January 10th, 2016

I took the class and was extremely pleased with how informative and well presented the class was. Gary was our instructor and was great from the original phone call to set up the payment for the class, to the actual class instruction itself. Highly recommend taking the class through Shades Landing, great guys and very nice.

Terry from New Hope, Minnesota - United States
October 5th, 2015

*** On our advanced Tactical Firepower II and III training courses ***

Shades-

Thanks for another great training session. Both the returning students and the new ones were very happy with what they learned. That should tell you something when you have that many guys that want to come back and do it again. Jason does an excellent job of building from the fundamentals to the more advanced skills. I think everyone is quite surprised at what they're capable of accomplishing with some solid training- me included. Gary's remarks both related and unrelated to class material are always appreciated and spice things up.

Looking at next spring, I'm thinking one more class like we've had. There are a number of people that couldn't make either of the two we had this year. I've also had some gals that have wanted to attend or guys that wanted to bring their wives but I've hesitated because it changes the dynamics of the class so much. Pretty sure we wouldn't be making jokes about Mike's wiener if we had women in the class. Or, maybe we would.

I also really want to do a follow up session building upon what we learned so far. I've asked a few of the guys and there's a lot of interest. We can look at some dates in the spring for both.

Thanks again
Mark
====

Mark from Austin, Minnesota - United States
February 16th, 2015

Being able to do the entire class on my own time was such a great convenience. The material covered with the quizzes are all exceptional and to the point.. The actual shooting exam is very enjoyable. 4 of my friends had referred me to Gary and I couldn't have been happier to have taken a class from him.

Thank You!

Yeej from , United States
October 21st, 2014

I just finished the on-line conceal and carry course to renew my certification. This is a very good way to be able to learn almost one on one, review, and work at your own pace to complete.

I would recommend at some point trying to get all the answers on one page. I did not scroll down all the way on some of the answers and therefore got them incorrect.

Thanks much for allowing another venue for taking the course and the quizzes.

Claudia from Grasston, Minnesota - United States
June 22nd, 2014

I just took my MN renewal course online. I took my original training online from Gary also. Gary is the consummate professional. I cant wait to attend some advanced training. I especially recommend first timers training with Gary, as he separates the BS from the stuff you really need to know !!!!

[Thank you Richard! Great to see you again.]

Richard from Rosemount, Minnesota - United States
March 2nd, 2014

I just completed my 3rd carry course with Gary Shade this last time going through the online version of the course.

The online version is very well put together in 3 distinct modules that you can, and in my cased needed, to review more than once prior to taking the quiz that covers each section. A well documented course with all the information that is covered in the classroom version.

I highly recommend using Gary Shade for the concealed carry class for both the in person classroom session which I have done twice with Gary or the newer online version that I just completed.

Gary's common sense approach to personal protection and his dedication to teaching others is commendable. I will continue to use Gary for my training as long as I remain a resident of Minnesota and I highly recommend him to everyone interested in obtaining a concealed carry permit!

MICHAEL from EDEN PRAIRIE, Minnesota - United States
March 25th, 2013

Gary,

I want to thank you for an informative and no stress course. For anyone who is thinking of getting their permit this is the course to go for. You take it online, in your home with no stress what so ever and at your convenience and time of day.

The online course was all I hoped it would be. I got my certificate today in the mail and plan on running it up to the Sheriff's office tomorrow.

Thank You again for a very well put together course that I took on my time schedule.

Dale from Princeton, Minnesota - United States
July 30th, 2012

I took a class with Gary about 3 years ago and another about a year and half ago.As a military police officer with hundreds of hours on the range as well as shoothouses with weapons from M-9 to M-240B I was leary about a firearms class . I also have spent plenty of hours watching powerpoints.I was interested and learned a ton of info from Gary on laws and firearms themselves.I was never bored in his class and he was very professional the whole time.The law part in my opinion was the most important as they vary from state to state and he was very knowledgable.I would like to say thanks again and I will be coming back when my licenses expire.

Chris from St Paul, Minnesota - United States
July 9th, 2012

I have to say that at first I was very leery of doing my Carry Class on-line. After going through the training modules I was unbelievably impressed. As a someone who owns their own business and doesn't have a set schedule I thought it would take me months to set aside time to do my Carry Class. I was able to do the modules while traveling; saving me time and money!

Gary was incredibly fast to respond to emails, and even let me do my range test the following day!

I was nervous to take the test, but Gary was professional and reassuring. I would honestly recommend Gary, whether in-class or online over the 6-8 other locations I looked at. I felt at ease and didn't feel like I was being judged or looked down on for not having a super high level of understanding before going through the class.

Honestly, I now have the confidence to carry and know my rights in the law.

Adam from Minneapolis, Minnesota - United States
March 19th, 2012

I have been wanting to apply for my carry permit for quite some time, but have never been able to find the half a day to take a classroom course. The online course truely opened up the possibility of having a carry permit to me.
The course itself is well laid out,communicates all the pertinent information without needless fluff and 'filler', and does so in a way that made me want to jump right into the next module.
Gary does a great job - both presenting the online course, and during the practical assessment. Not only was he clear and concise with the safety rules and requirements during the practical assessment, but went the extra mile and gave me a few personal tips on stance, grip etc. all very minor adjustments, that made a noticeable impact on my accuracy and consistency. Thanks Gary!

MARK from EDEN PRAIRIE, Minnesota - United States
March 19th, 2012

I am a student at Inver Hills and recently took the online-hybrid course. The course is great and easy to use. The lectures and modules are clear, informative and concise. Gary is easy to contact, and answers any questions posed. I would recommend this course to anyone wanting to learn Minnesota gun laws and anyone wanting to apply for a carry permit.

Timothy from Stillwater, Minnesota - United States
February 23rd, 2012

The online Concealed Carry course was wonderful! I was able to fit this into my already hectic schedule. The modules were very informative and Gary's narration is clear and detailed. He even showed up on his day off so we could test out at the range. His pointers in the range were simple but made a world of difference in my shooting execution. I would definitely go through Shades Landing again for future courses and would recommend it to anyone else looking to complete this certification or anything related to shooting. Thanks Gary!

Rachel from Burnsville, Minnesota - United States
July 17th, 2010

Gary,
The online course was great! The Material was well laid out and very informative.

With a hectic schedule, this was a complete blessing to me. The course allowed me to work at my own pace and on my own schedule. Anyone considering taking the conceal and carry course, this online version is a great way to go. Thanks again, I loved the opportunity!

I am still waiting for my carry permit, applied on the 29th, so I hope it doesn't take that long at Hennepin County Sheriff's Dept.

Pamela from Crystal, Minnesota - United States
December 6th, 2009

I highly recomment the online course, which is well-presented, easy to follow, and gives rapid responses. Well done!

Ken from Burnsville, Minnesota - United States
November 25th, 2009

I signed up for the class assuming that it would be boring and that the instructor would just teach me things I already knew. I was wrong. I learned a great deal that I did not already know. Because much of the material was new to me, the online class kept my attention.

Prior to signing up for the hybrid online class, I did a lot of research into which class I should take. My priorities were 1) work within a budget; 2) save time; 3) get my certificate quickly.

I spent around $100 (including range time), which is probably the best deal out there. I spent probably 4 hours or so on the course. I got my certificate about 3 days after I signed up for the course. Considering all factors, I am confident I made the right decision in choosing Gary's course. If you duplicate my research, I am sure you will come to the same conclusion.

Michael from Falcon Heights, Minnesota - United States
October 29th, 2009

Hey Gary the online course was great! The Material was well laid out and very informative. The course allowed me to work at my own pace and on my own schedule. Anyone considering taking the conceal and carry course, this online version is a great way to go. Thanks again.

Rob

Rob from Lakeville, Minnesota - United States
August 30th, 2009

Gary, With busy schedules and running the kids around to there activities i did not think i would have the time to set aside to sign up for a conceal and carry course. When i called you to talk about my options and you informed me of the online course i enrolled immediately. The online enrollment process was very user friendly. I was able to take the course at my own pace. I finished the entire course in a couple hours and was able to take all the tests that same evening. Being you are on your own and do not have an instructor with you i did write down the many questions that came to mind and had all of the answered when Gary and i met 2 days later for my live shooting requirement and final test. I immediately applied for my carry permit with my local sheriff and less than 2 weeks later i now have my permit. Gary thanks for making it possible to have this option and having your website to continue my education to have the right to carry.

BRYAN from PRIOR LAKE, Minnesota - United States
August 11th, 2009

Glocks ROCK !! ;-)nerdy

Dunamis from St. Paul, Minnesota - United States
August 11th, 2009

Yours was not the first ccw class i have taken. I was VERY impressed and pleased to note that while all of your competition teaches the statutory law... YOU went the extra mile and included case law. The suplimental CD-ROM that you gave away FREE to your students was an amazing resource. Thank you VERY VERY much. I was inspired by your son's determined stand for Liberty, and, while I also have been standing... I went ahead and acquired a covert Hi res video/audio recording device so that I can simultaneously secure evidence while being demanded to "Show me yer Papers!!"

I have already, and will continue to, recommend you heartily and enthusiastically to my friends...

Dunamis Flux, St. Paul, Minnesota

Dunamis from St. Paul, Minnesota - United States
Add Your Comments to This Page!